Do you listen to audiobooks?

Cat Watercolour PRINT, Music Art, Headphones, Orange Tabby, Watercolor Cat, 8x10 print

I’ve been doing this new thing where I check out audiobooks from the library. My New Year’s resolution to ride the subway at least a couple days a week  has fallen *ahem* by the wayside. For many reasons. My laziness being just one of them. In place of that precious extra 1.5 hours reading time that my subway commute affords, I figured I’d let someone else read to me. It has certainly made even Atlanta driving — dare I say it? — something of a pleasure.

Right now I’m listeninto The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao. Have you read it? Do you ever listen to audiobooks? What are some of your favorites (books and narrators)? I can see how you could become loyal to certain narrators, seeing as you’re entrusting them with bringing the characters to life. I wonder if Ira Glass has narrated any books. ;)

(Cat watercolor by WaterInMyPaint)

3 comments
  1. onixj said:

    I personally can’t. I am a visual person if I don’t read/see it it won’t stick in my mind. I rather do my books the traditional way.

  2. Chad said:

    I was never interested in David Sedaris before listening to him narrate his own books. Even now, I never really read him, but only listen to him instead. I find that something is lost when his stories are read without his voice.

  3. I’ve found that audiobooks are the only things that keep me sane in Atlanta traffic. It’s a great way to pass the time. I just finished “Fall of Giants” and “Ender’s Game” and just started “The Paris Wife.”

Leave a Reply

