Wanderlust: Indie Road Trip

roadtripcanyons roadtripcoastI’ve been fantasizing a lot lately about doing a cross-country road trip. Have you ever done one? Specifically, I would love to go by your recommendations and map my route based on noteworthy (and lesser-known) independent bookstores. Visit at least one per state. At least. I’ve read about so many great indies over the year, it kills me that I haven’t been to any farther west than the Appalachians.

So, I was hoping you’d be game for to a little wishful thinking and tell me your recommendations. You know, just in case. Which indies should we visit on our dream road trip?

 

3 comments
  1. I live in Sonoma, CA and I have a few suggestions for indie bookshop visits here on the West Coast: Reader’s Books here in Sonoma — set on the historic Sonoma Plaza; City Lights in San Francisco in the North Beach section of the city; Book Soup in Los Angeles on Sunset Boulevard. Enjoy!

  2. Leda Sox said:

    The King’s English and Sam Weller’s in Salt Lake and Back of Beyond Books in Moab (for Edward Abbey fans) are the best ones I’ve been to in Utah. (And we’ve got a futon for you to stay on if you to pass through northern Utah!). Powell’s in Portland is like the mother of all indie bookshops and Elliot Bay in Seattle is amazing and huge as well.

Leave a Reply

