Book Clubs

Tonight I’m going to a book club meeting to discuss The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot. (I wrote a shelf-talker about it last year, if you’re curious). Have you read it? It’ll be my first time going to the Agnes Scott Alumnae Book Club (Decatur Chapter) and I’m pretty excited, especially considering I’ve done a terrible job of staying connected with my alma mater so far. I’m looking forward to three things, really: connecting with a multi-generational group of Scotties, discussing a book that I absolutely couldn’t put down or stop thinking about last summer, and just being a part of a book club again. It’s been too long. I love book clubs because they attract such interesting people from such varied backgrounds, and yet that shared love of trying new literature brings everyone together.

Are you in any book clubs? What kind? I’d love to hear! I heard of a cute idea recently for a movie club, in which a bunch of 20-something girls got together and watched all their Dads’ favorite movies. The Dads loved it, because they thought like their daughters must really admire their taste in movies; the daughters loved it, because they got to see a side of their father’s they wouldn’t normally have guessed existed…and, of course, laugh at them a little, too. Some of the movie their Dad’s chose were Casablanca, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest and The Graduate.

I wonder if you could do something similar for a book club. Have you heard of any quirky or unique ideas for book clubs? I’d love to hear. Being the nerd that I am, I’d love to be part of a Russian lit. club or a Lost Generation Boozy Book Club. What about you?

(Photo from LuxEcoLiving)

Leave a Reply

