The Night Circus

Though my timing is never great, I like the idea of reading seasonal books. Spooky ghost stories around Halloween, books that are set during or allude to Christmas at Christmas time. Last year I bought this book at Outright Bookstore just before it closed with the intention of making it our Halloween book. Four months later we finally got around to it and loved reading it in the graveyards of Savannah.

So it was to my great delight to unintentionally start reading a book at the end of September/beginning October that met all my requirements (and more) for a Halloween book. The Night Circus is about a midnight, magical circus that travels the world enchanting visitors all the while covering up for a mysterious competition being waged inside the big top. Meanwhile, there are all the sights, sounds and smells of October: caramel-covered popcorn, hot cider, scarlet red scarves, men without shadows, a fortune teller…

Couldn’t be enjoying this book more than I am right now. And, for the first time since I was a kid, I’m looking forward to Halloween. I’m not a haunted house and horror movie kind of girl – too much of a whimp. But I like “Halloween light,” as it were: you know, hay rides through golden pastures, crunching fallen leaves, carving pumpkins, eating an assortment of traditional candy, county fairs, and caping it all off with Young Frankenstein on Halloween night.

What about you? Are you big Halloween fans? Do you try and read seasonally-appropriate literature? What are you reading right now? I’d love to hear!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

