Friday TBR wishlist

Honestly, there’s so much going on in Atlanta this weekend, I don’t know how much reading I’ll be doing (unless it’s in the bath). There’s the Avett Brothers tonight at Music Midtown, then Florence & the Machines and others tomorrow night. And then Luke and I really want to get up to  the North Georgia state fair on Sunday. Have you ever been to a state fair? I think I went to a couple country fairs, but they were all that grand. I’m looking forward to eating funnel cake, riding the giant swings, and watching Kachunga wrestle an alligator. Yeah, this is Georgia. I think Luke’s gonna have some culture shock this weekend. :)

What are you up to this weekend and what book is on your nightstand right now? I’d love to hear.

My Friday TBR (to be read) wishlist:

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. The movie’s coming out soon and, unlike Anna Karenina, I would totally go and see it…just so long as I’ve read the book first. Oh yeah, I’m definitely in the read-first camp.

 

 

 

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. This just looks like a fun read, about the mysterious goings-on inside a 24-hour bookstore. After observing the strange behavior of customers who never seem to buy anything, but “check-out” impossibly obscure volumes, Clay Jannon sets out to uncover the bookstore’s secrets. “Turns out the secrets extend far outside the walls of the bookstore.”

 

 

2 comments
  1. asiancajuns said:

    Is that Oakland I see behind you? Lovely photo! I hope you guys got to do some/all of that fun stuff! Ahhh, it makes me miss the ATL.
    At the moment I’m reading The Old Man and Me by Elaine Dundy. I loved the Dud Avocado, and this one is set in this foggy Isle ;)

    • Erin said:

      Yes! It is Oakland… one of my favorite spots in Atlanta to read. :} I’ll have to check those books out – they sound promising. I love anything set on your “foggy isle,” just finished The Flight of Gemma Hardy as an example.

Leave a Reply

