Best Places to Read in Atlanta: #2 Piedmont Park

Last week I shared one of my favorite places to read in Atlanta for a my Atlanta Literary Guide series. This week, I’d like to share another: Piedmont Park. If you’re not familiar with Atlanta, Piedmont Park is our Central Park. Located in the heart of Midtown and connecting several trendy neighborhoods, Piedmont is the gathering place for Atlantans and tourists alike. On any given day, you’ll share the green space with drum circle groups, runners, dog walkers, couples taking engagement photos, kickball teams, and families barbecuing on the lawn. You’ll probably also see folks like me curled up under a tree or swinging on one of the benches overlooking the lake… reading. It ticks off many boxes on my list when I’m looking to recharge after a busy week: outdoors, fresh air, natural beauty, proximity to my apartment/work, solitude while still being near civilisation (plenty of opportunities for people watching!).
When Luke and I moved to the states from the UK we had two requirements: we wanted to live somewhere that was pedestrian friendly, and, if we lived in a city, there had to be plenty of green space. Atlanta proper still has some ways to go in the walkability department, but Decatur at least (where we live) gets a B+. As far as green space goes, though, I’d give Atlanta an A. Did you know most of Atlanta’s nicknames have to do with its greenery: The City of Trees, the City in the Woods, The Dogwood City?

Do you have a favorite park where you like to read? I’d love to hear.

All photos were taken by the wonderful Anne Cunningham, my former college roommate :) I can’t wait to show you the other places we visited in the coming days.

 

1 comment
  1. Claire said:

    I like these blog posts a lot. You are a pretty woman.

Leave a Reply

