Best places to read in Atlanta: #1 Historic Oakland Cemetery

Yesterday I enlisted the help of my former college roommate, Anne, for a very special project. I wanted to show you through her (she’s got the photography skilz) a few of my favorite places in the city to curl up with a book. Our first stop was Historic Oakland Cemetery. It didn’t occur to me until we were actually taking pictures that some people might find my cemetery reading a bit odd. But hear me out on this one: A) Historic cemeteries like Oakland, and the many scattered across Savannah and New Orleans, are truly places of beauty: ornamental, ostentatious, creepy beauty. B) They are peaceful… they are, after all, full of dead people. C) They excite your curiosity, which is exactly what literature tries to do, so why not combine the two?Naturally, I recommend having a book in hand when you go to Oakland, but it’s also worth wandering its many meandering brick paths. It was great having Anne along since she majored in American history and could point out all the most interesting sites: a section for Confederate soldiers, a Jewish section, the mausoleums built by wealthy white families. We found Margaret Mitchell in this last section.

Am I crazy? Do you read in graveyards, too? Would you dare? Where do you like to read in public?

Anne took all the photos for this post. I can’t wait to show you the other places we visited in the coming days. Stay tuned!

(On another note, do you recognize this book?)

2 comments
  1. Yes! Quiet, outdoors and mysterious! I’m glad I’m not the only one :)

Leave a Reply

