Do you read magazines?

(Many apologies if you received a notification about this post multiple times. There seems to have been a glitch in my software that meant it was publishing the post as I was writing it. Sorry!) 

I was thinking the other day that one thing I miss about Borders (and there aren’t many things, being completely frank) is the never ending magazine section. I know B&N still has a great magazine section, but I don’t really get over there that often, since I like to support indies. I can only think of one indie bookstore that carries magazines (Quail Ridge Books and Music), and they are mainly of the literary variety.

The thing is, I don’t subscribe to too many magazines. Do you? I’m more of a browser, which is what was so great about Borders and B&N. Alas, that set-up and my cheapness probably didn’t help the magazine industry. But I do love to read a good magazine when I see one sitting on someone’s coffee table, in the waiting room, or on the train.

So now that I have this fancy gadget, I was thinking I might actually subscribe to a few. I’d love to know: which magazines do you read?

The only magazine that I will buy and read cover to cover (usually over a period of days or weeks) is National Geographic.

A few that I’ll pick up, read and enjoy and wish I read regularly, but don’t, are New York Magazine, Paste, The Paris Review, The New Yorker and Atlanta Magazine.

My guilty pleasure reads: Martha Stewart Magazine, Real Simple, Dwell, and the online only Refinery29.

So I’m wondering, which magazines do you read?

3 comments
  1. TeaJae said:

    Magazines that I do love to read – Religious magazines such as the Watchtower and Awake. I also enjoy Martha Stewart Living, Bon Appetit, MORE, Prevention, Southern Living, Southern Lady and Garden and Gun

  2. I have had Southern Living for years ever since my mother-in-law got me a subscription as a present so I can’t live without the home, garden and recipe ideas. I have subscribed to Vanity Fair off and on and recently bought a subscription to Garden and Gun Magazine.

  3. Bobbi said:

    Mother Earth News, Organic Gardening and Real Simple. :) Love them, but they are totally a waste of money, lol. However, I still like to hold a magazine vs reading online…

Leave a Reply

