Luke’s Christmas Stocking

Do y’all celebrate the 12 Days of Christmas? Growing up, my parents instituted the one-present-a-day rule for the 12 days of Christmas. At the time, opening just one present on Christmas morning was unbearable, but looking back on it now, I realize what a brilliant and special tradition it was. Plus, who can complain about having enough presents to do that?! The perks of being preacher’s kids in a generous church.

While we don’t honor that particular tradition today, Luke and I are all for stretching Christmas out for as long as possible. (We still have our decorations up. Do you?) And since we’re currently at day 12, I thought I’d share the Christmas Stocking I knitted for Luke this year. Would you like to see it?

I was pretty excited about how the red holly berries worked out. It was a total fluke. The dark green yarn I used had sections of orangey-red interspersed throughout. I had no idea how it would work out or if it would even look good, but I decided to give it a try anyways. I could never have planned for it to show up so perfectly in the center of the green banding, just like holly berries.

Luke is pleased with it and it pleases me to think his first American Christmas felt that little bit more like home.

I’d love to know: Do you celebrate the 12 Days of Christmas? Also, where do you stand on the Christmas decorations debate? Are you in the camp that takes them down on December 26th or do you, like us, leave them up well into January?

5 comments
  1. Bobbi said:

    We took our decorations down today with the exception of the lights on the tree. They are just so pretty. The stocking is awesome. I would love to learn how to knit, but not sure I will have time with everything else going on.

  2. I love the stocking. It’s clear that a lot of skill, care and time has gone into that. Luke is really lucky – I bet he was really pleased!

    Happy New Year to you both!

    Helen x

    • Erin said:

      Happy New Year to you too, Helen! Hope you, Adrian and your girls are doing well. All best.

  3. Anne said:

    I have such sweet memories from celebrating the 12 days of Christmas with you. Happy Epiphany! Love, mom

Leave a Reply

