New Year’s Reads

Hello. Remember me? December was a light month for posting – and for that I apologize – mainly, the result of starting a new job. But 2012 is a new year, so we’ll see if we can get back to programing as usual.

The new year has got me thinking about resolutions. Cliche they may be, but I think there’s something to setting goals at the start of each new year. So I was curious, do you set new year’s resolutions? Specifically, do you have any reading/writing goals this year?

We’re starting the year off by (re)reading The Alchemist, which was a Christmas present from my brother-in-law. I remember finding it to be an incredibly inspiring book as a freshman in high school, so I’m excited to come at it again with, perhaps, a little more perspective. It will certainly be a more positive, life-affirming book than the one we were reading last month (#2 on the list).

Then after that, who knows? I have resolved to be quite selective in the books I choose to read this year. We are only given a finite time on this earth, and with so many millions of books out there, I want to be sure I’m filling my mind with truly insightful, challenging, beautiful, worth-my-while literature (preferably with happy endings).

Here are my other resolutions:

1) Continue to learn and practice speaking French regularly. To kick-start this resolution, I’ve incorporated more French pop into my playlists. Like these folks.

2) Begin learning another language. High up on my list are Mandarin, Spanish and Korean. I’m trying to decide whether to start with Spanish or Mandarin. I know Spanish makes more sense for where we’re living now (plus it will be easier), but I’m so fascinated with Chinese culture at the moment that I’m leaning toward it. Plus, with China’s growing importance in the world, I’m thinking Mandarin might be a important language to know. Thoughts?

3) Make exercise fun. Luke gave me a basketball for Christmas, so I’ve been enjoying shooting hoops more regularly. Also, I bought a Groupon for 10 hot yoga classes. I’m not sure if this will be fun or not, though people talk about hot yoga like it’s a drug. Mostly I’m just super nervous about exercising in 105* temperatures. Yikes!

4) Explore more natural reserves and state parks in Georgia and the southeast.

5) Go hiking at least once a month.

6) Email friends and family more regularly.

7) Write more thank-you notes.

8) Read Middlemarch.

That’s where I am so far. I’d love to hear your resolutions. Here’s to a new year of challenges and possibilities!

2 comments
  1. Bobbi said:

    YAY for #6! ;)
    I am just going to enjoy my life for everything it is worth. I would like to add in reading to the list as I have had a hard time getting back into it. And last but not least, I would like to declutter more of my “things”, which will include my book collection. :}

Leave a Reply

