Shelf Talker Tuesday

Today’s Shelf Talker Tuesday comes from bookseller Krista of Little Shop of Stories. After the Kiss is a YA novel by Decatur author, Terra McVoy. With that in mind I got a kick out of Krista’s shelf talker. She says:

“Full disclosure: Terra McVoy is one of my best friends. But I swear I’m not being biased when I say that After the Kiss is one of the most beautifully written YA books I’ve read. The characters are real and likeable and the language – told in poems – is gorgeou. Becca and Camille’s lives intertwine when Camille kisses Becca’s boyfriend n this fantastic book!”

While I’m a huge fan of children’s literature, I confess I have not read a whole lot of YA literature since, well, since I was a young adult. Still, I know a lot of adults who love it. So I got to wondering if any of you lovely readers out there are YA lit fans and, if so, what attracts you to the genre? What books would you recommend to the curious but intrepid adult?

When She Woke is another YA book that got my attention and I’m now thinking I’ll have to check out.

PS, Little Shop of Stories’ online store is due to be up and running this week (!!), so I’m including a link to both it and IndieBound, where you can find your nearest indie bookstore should you wish to check out either of these great books. Check it.


2 comments
  1. Bobbi said:

    Looks interesting. I might have to give this a try. Never read any young adult really…

  2. “Feeling Sorry for Celia” by Jaclyn Moriarty is a fantastic YA! I love YA books because there is such growth and self-discovery in the main characters… watching people become themselves….

Leave a Reply

