Paddywax Library Candles

The other day, I walked into our local Ace Hardware store (of all places) and just gasped when I saw these ultra chique library candles. Would you not be overcome by an undeniable urge to read literature if you caught a whiff of one of these author-inspired fragrances? Okay, maybe that’s giving them a little too much credit, but don’t you love the swoony quotes on the glass?  I also love how the creators assigned the authors their own scents. Leo Tolstoy apparently exudes notes of Black Plum, Persimmon and Oakmoss. Who knew?

Thoreau is appropriately woodsy. And Jane Austen must smell like an English country garden.

Which one would you pick?

6 comments
  1. Bobbi said:

    Those are nice. :)

  2. I would totally get the Jane Austen one! I wish they had an F. Scott Fitzgerald though.

    • The Fitzgerald one would smell of desperation and bathtub gin. :)

      • Erin said:

        Ha! Too true.

  3. I used to work at the Barnes & Noble in Roseville, MN, and we had these candles near the greeting cards. I’d always figure out ways to loiter in that section on my shifts. My favorite was Oscar Wilde – Cedarwood, Thyme, and Basil.

Leave a Reply

