Favorite Children’s Books

Last Friday I took a trip to a place I hadn’t been in years: the Children’s section of the library. It started as research. As I’m going to be a volunteer in the Children’s Tent at the Decatur Book Festival this weekend, I wanted to swat up on some of the authors who’ll be in attendance. Did you know there are some seriously funny children’s books out nowadays? Judy Schachner’s Skippyjon Jones series is properly wacky and fabulous… no really. A Siamese kitten that thinks it’s a Mexican Chihuahua?

So anyways, after having a good laugh over some of these new-to-me children’s book authors, a few old favorites caught my eye, which I thought I’d share with you.

The book that first made me fall in love with France as a kid. I still remember my Mom reading this in her best Parisian accent. Don’t you love the retro colors in the illustrations?

After talking about Philippe Petit the other day, I was inspired to resurrect this old favorite: Mirette on the High Wire. Again, another book about a Parisian tight-rope walker. 

Finally, we all know and love The Very Hungry Caterpillar (my favorite version), but do you remember The Grouchy Ladybug? I find the illustrations magical and mysterious.

Particularly this one of the humpback whale.

And this one of the lunar moth and ladybug couple.

What are some of your favorite children’s books? Are there any you enjoy now as adults?

(PS, In England they call ladybugs “ladybirds.”  It always makes me think of a caricature of a short and plump old lady in a red coat and a black felt hat. Random, huh?)

3 comments
  1. Claire said:

    Beauty. What wonderful discoveries. I am looking forward to the Shelf Talker today:)

  2. Bobbi said:

    The Happy Lion was a favorite and there are too many more to remember at my old age, lol.

Leave a Reply

