Shelf-Talker Tuesday: Watership Down

Today, Luke is contributing his shelf-talker for a book we’ve been reading together recently. I know most people read Watership Down when they were kids (lucky them!), but Luke and I both agree that adults should not write this book off as children’s literature. It’s a stunning book: suspenseful, full of lively, individual characters, insightful and satirical. Plus, author Richard Adams created his own rabbit language for the book. Oh yes, he did. Think Tolkein’s elvish only more adorable and with a lot more hraka (n:poop).

So without further ado:

Watership Down by Richard Adams (Avon Books, 1972)

What an adventure! A book for all ages, Watership Down is a tale of courage, friendship and suspense. Adams’ vivid characters and his fantastic, often humorous, storytelling left me hanging on every word. My wife and I chose this book for our bedtime reading, and despite initial doubts (Rabbits? Really?) and a slightly slow start (~50 pages), we were left short of breath during the book’s many twists and turns.

Thank you, Luke!

I’m curious, what are some of your favorite children’s books? Did you read any of them as adults? Would you?

6 comments
  1. Claire said:

    I loved “The Secret Garden” and “Bridge to Terabithia.” Probably because my mom would read them in cool voices. However, I believe that they still hold a lot of value for adults and are wonderful stories to read and reread again.

    Side note: I have a student who is studying art (at age 15) and has taken to painting children’s chairs. She paints familiar children storybook characters on them. The one she let me see was “Where the Wild Things Are.” It would go perfectly in the youngster’s reading section of your future bookshop and would support a young and talented youth whom I love.

  2. Claire said:

    PS: Excellent shelf-talker Luke!

  3. Erin said:

    That sounds amazing! Send me a picture and I’ll share it. Thanks!

  4. Ahhh Watership Down…still can’t get it out of my mind. Why you ask? Because I never read it! But I tried, and tried, and tried. It has been one of those books that has haunted me as an adult. I ran into just the other day, and now here it is again. I am also in between books and needing a book to read to my daughter.
    So, you will be able to find me at the bookstore this week…finally purchasing it and reading it, no matter what!

Leave a Reply

