Postertext of Classic Literature

Reading friends, I realize this blog is quickly turning into a space about interior decorating for bookshops, but I am unabashed; I am completely enamored with these nifty posters of classic literature. Can you believe that the picture is formed by all the text from the entire novel? If you had a super high-powered magnifying glass, you could read maybe a couple lines every day.

Did you guess that the picture above is Moby Dick?

My next favorite is The Great Gatsby, which is a book I’ve only recently read (I know, can you believe that?). I loved everything about that perfect little book, and this poster manages to capture the characters’ obsessive longing for the unattainable exactly.

The company that makes them is called Postertext. I think the concept is just genius.

Do you have a favorite from their shop? What are some books you’d like to see made into a Postertext? I’d kind of like to see what they’d do for Charlotte’s Web or Anna Karenina. But then again….a woman being run over by a train? Maybe not.

I’d love to hear from you!

(Photos from Postertext)

4 comments
  1. claire said:

    These are awesome! Where do you find this stuff? I have a sis-in-law who would adore one of these posters…can you guess which one?

    • Erin said:

      Aren’t they? Hmmm, Jane Eyre, perhaps?

  2. Che said:

    I loved their Wizard of Oz and The Metamorphosis. I think Gone with the Wind would make a great print, dont you?

Leave a Reply

