Too Late for Typewriters?

So I’ve been thinking about buying a vintage typewriter recently…

I know, they’re impractical. And outdated. And it’d be a pain and a half trying to find new ribbons for them, clean them, replace old parts…

I know that as soon as I got it set up and started typing — just me and the words, no twitter, no email, no blogs — I’d need to look something up on the internet.

I know that typing on a typewriter is a little different from typing on a computer, which would take some getting used to, and it would be annoying not having an electronic copy of my work.

And I know they’re kind of heavy and would take up a lot of storage space.

But…they’re just so… cool.


Maybe it’s because my five-year old lenova laptop has run really slowly lately, and sometimes it makes a noise like a wheezing vacuum cleaner,  and there’s nothing more frustrating than a dysfunctional computer when you’re trying to write,

or maybe it’s because my productivity has been really low the past few days and I blame it on the internet,

and because sometimes the Luddite in me wants to rebel every time Apple comes out with the latest i-{fill in the blank},or maybe it’s because  I’m under the illusion that if I got a typewriter, I’d write like him.

but whatever the reason, these typewriters are speaking to me.

I think a whole shelf of them would look perfect in a bookstore. I’d put them on a shelf just behind the cash register and get them down any time anyone wanted to have a go.

What do you think? Would you give your Mac a vacation and use one of these?

(Photos from Etsy. Click on the photo to visit the shop.)

10 comments
  1. Bobbi said:

    I am with you! I love old typewriters and would love to still have my grandfathers! Just hainvg it for sentimel reason is enough, but knowing it was his and he worte so many good things on it would be bonus. I can remember him using it but yes, the up keep would be hard. Where would you get ribbons and whow would repair them? Surely there is someone out there who could do it. I think I will google and see what I can fine.
    Great post, I can see the lot of them behind the counter in your store already!

  2. I don’t think I’d give up my Mac for one, but those keys do seem to call to you, don’t they?

    • Erin said:

      Aren’t the multicolored ones on the Corona just to die for?

    • Erin said:

      Cheryl – I didn’t see that until just now. That’s really interesting. It seems we’ve all had typewriter’s on the brain lately. I love your blog, btw! There is nothing wrong with being a paper and ink romantic in this highly technological time. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Lib said:

    My mother who is 74 still has the typewriter she took to college! It is truly vintage and my children who are now 21, 19, and 16, all talk about “Grandma’s typewriter.” Although she has perfect penmanship, she would, from time to time, type a letter to the children when they were away at summer camp. I’m guessing they were the only campers to receive such a note! Many of the recipes she’s given me are carefully typed onto a recipe card. I still have the letters and the recipes, and hope, someday, I’ll have the typewriter too.
    Fun topic!

  4. Anne said:

    Snif, snif. . . just remembering my grandpa’s trusty typewriter as he tapped out his weekly column “Too Late To Classify”.

Leave a Reply

